Shopping with Mrs Adelman

SP, by and large, isn’t a fan on shopping. I, by and large, am not a fan of buying stuff online, paying for postage and having to wait in for deliveries. It means that, by and large, if I want to buy stuff I have to cram it into my lunch break (if I get one…and even then I’m so consumed by the need for food I forget what I needed to buy) or I have to sneak out of the house when there’s someone else around to keep an eye on him as he stays glued to his iPad. It’s not ideal.

There is one shop that SP likes: the large out-of-town Sainsbury’s. Not that we get any practical shopping done. Instead we watch the bank of TVs with its endless loop of promo videos that you’d think we didn’t have a telly in the house. We’ve been known to stand there (and by ‘stand’ I really mean repeatedly run up and down the length of the display) for up to an hour. To lure him away I have to tempt him with the search for chocolate buttons. Except that he’s learnt that the chocolate buttons are in aisle 13, so anything for dinner has to be grabbed as we dash by the point of sale ends between the TVs and the confectionary.

Essentially from a monolithic supermarket I’m lucky if I get to leave with pizza. Maybe I should give more thought to Internet shopping.

Sometimes though a shopping trip is unavoidable – the other week I had to buy school uniform and a new car seat for SP as his sensory issues meant that he’d slip his shoulder restraints each and every time rather than being confined. To soften the deal I said I’d take him to the farm (to bounce on their trampolines as much as look at the animals).

It didn’t work out like that.

In the uniform shop SP was very good, pointing stuff out and saying “thank you” to everything. I breathed a sigh of relief. He declared he wanted to go to KFC. I agreed – it was lunchtime (I was hoping for sandwiches and cake in the farm café, but eating dead chicken before we saw live chickens was do-able). SP enthusiastically waved goodbye to everyone in the shop – staff and customers alike – and we headed on our way.

It was when we went to buy the car seat that things got tricky. SP immediately launched himself up the main aisle, chanting “24-hour shopping, 24-hour shopping” on repeat. Trying to make an informed purchasing decision whilst simultaneously ensuring he didn’t then make a beeline for the automatic doors, wasn’t easy. I feared we’d actually end up shopping for 24 hours! As soon as it became clear that the car seat I wanted wasn’t in stock (essentially because a shop actually holding anything more than a bunch of display products is so passé, apparently) I ordered it online… from my phone…whilst in the middle of the shop. (Don’t c’ha  just love the 21st century? Well, actually, when it’s like that – no.) I regretted not doing the whole thing from the comfort of my own house…but not as much as I was about to!

Technically we were now free to go to the farm at least. Except, no.

  
Do you remember the episode of Friends when Phoebe became possessed with the spirit of elderly client, Mrs Adelman and she wouldn’t leave until she’d “seen everything”? Well, it seemed that SP had been similarly possessed! From being shop-intolerant, he decided I was absolutely vital that we looked extensively at every shop along the strip. Some of them twice, and in the case of Argos, three times!!! (It’s Argos’s fault for having a demo video for Lego Dimensions playing, with a console with big shiny red interactive buttons. May SP never ever have any responsibilty for national security – we’d all be a gonner by the end of his induction tour!)

We walked a total of more than 12,000 steps – nearly 6 miles – backwards and forwards, backwards and forwards.

We looked at games consoles, toiletries, sandwich fillings and muffins, three-piece sofa suites, mobile phones and fridges, plants, garden furniture, water features and sheds. 

  
It was only when he’d also got halfway around Tesco that he’d declared he’d “done.” Typically his legs then immediately stopped working and I had to carry him back to the car.

The afternoon had gone and we’d missed the chance to go to the farm. Not that SP cared – as far as he was concerned he’d had a brilliant day. So much so he wanted to repeat the experience the following week! Although SP is now a shopaholic, it’s only on his terms and so I’ve had to resort to sneaking out of the house if I want to actually get stuff done! With the summer break now underway, unless I want to spend my days off trawling after SP until Security throws us out for suspicious activity, I really must sort out an online account. Mrs Adelman can go and haunt somebody else. I’m done!

Leave a Reply

